Top Ten Graphic Novels I Want to Read

toptentuesday

When I saw that this week’s Top Ten Tuesday’s topic was a freebie I knew straight away that I wanted to share ten graphic novels that are on my radar. I only got into graphic novels fairly recently, but already my TBR is filling up with titles that I can’t wait to get my hands on.  Here are ten, in no particular order – I’m sure more will follow!

1. Becoming Unbecoming by Una

Set in the 1970s against the backdrop of the hunt for the serial murderer known as the Yorkshire Ripper, this is the story of a girl who is the victim of gender violence. I flicked through this in a bookshop recently and was instantly drawn to the sparing artwork and the way every page seemed to have a different layout.

25363212

2. Nimona by Noelle Stevenson

A story about a shapeshifter and a supervillain who are set to wreak some serious havoc. This sounds like a mischievous fantasy tale that progresses into something more intriguing.

19351043

3. This One Summer by Mariko Tamaki and Jillian Tamaki

A coming of age story about two young friends who spend their summer holidays together, described as ‘a summer of secrets and sorrow and growing up’.  I’ve heard really good things about this one – looks like a perfect summer read too.

18465566

4. Blankets by Craig Thompson

Another coming of age tale, this time featuring two brothers growing up in wintery Wisconsin. At 592 pages this is pretty epic for a graphic novel, but I like the idea of getting stuck into a meatier read.

25179

5. The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman

The combination of Neil Gaiman as author and the style of the illustrations made this one a no-brainer for me.

18738869

6. Wolf Children: Ame & Yuki by Mamoru Hosada

I’m going to be honest: I picked this one purely because the cover looks so darned cute.

18170149

7. The Undertaking of Lily Chen by Danica Novgorodoff

An ancient Chinese custom demands that every man must have a wife to keep him company in the afterlife. And so when Deshi’s brother dies unmarried, Deshi must quickly find him the right girl for the job. I am very curious about where this rather spooky sounding premise will lead!

17934370

8. Anya’s Ghost by Vera Brosgol

Another slightly spooky story – this one about a girl who struggles to fit in at school and makes friends with a ghost.

9615347

9. Beautiful Darkness by Fabien Vehlmann

Described as an ‘anti-fairytale’, this one is about two humans who find themselves in a land of teeny-tiny people that at first seems charming but soon begins to unravel as the little people start to turn on one another.

17287069

10. Fables series by Bill Willingham

As a fan of shows like Once Upon a Time and Grimm I know I’m going to have to try this epic series about fairy tale and folklore characters who have been forced to live in disguise in exile in modern-day New York. This might turn into a long-term project – there are over 100 issues collected into various editions, and multiple spin-offs!

21326

Oh, and one bonus – I recently discovered the wonderful world of free digital graphic novels that is Line Webtoon and I started reading Where Tangents Meet by Kaitlyn Narvaza (aka instantmiso). This high school romance is ever so cutesy and has some really cheesy lines but I’m finding it weirdly addictive!

28252152

Are there any other graphic novels I should add to my list?

Has anyone read any of the graphic novels on my list? What did you think?

Thanks for stopping by!

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme devised and hosted by the wonderful bloggers over at The Broke and the Bookish. Thanks for the freebie this week guys!

Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. Graphics aren’t really my kinda thing, but I hope you enjoy them when you get them 🙂

    Reply
    • Thank you! It’s kind of new to me but I am really getting into them, especially some of the quirkier ones that have been around lately. Thanks for stopping by!

      Reply
  2. I loved Nimona. And it’s pretty adult, but have you read Saga?

    Reply
  3. I really want to read more graphic novels. They’re so much fun!

    Reply
  4. I haven’t read any graphic novels but have been seeing them EVERYWHERE! I will have to check out some of your recommendations 🙂

    Reply
  5. I’ve just read the Hobbit graphic novel and the Neil Gaiman illustrated children’s books. Nimona and the Graveyard Book books would definitely be on my list hehe. Happy reading! http://www.curious-daisy.com/top-ten-tuesday/ten-booktubers-you-should-follow/

    Reply
  6. Confession time: I have NEVER read a graphic novel. I know, I know. Not good. I did get Saga though, and I hope to get to it soon, because I really would like to give them a try, I have heard a lot of great things about them- including some of these on your list! I hope you love them!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow The Library for Delinquents and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 381 other followers

  • Currently reading:

