Ten Bookish Things I Want to Quit (but probably never will)

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s theme had me stumped for a while, but once I got started it was really fun! I’d love to think that one day I’ll be able to break some of these bad bookish habits, but somehow I don’t think I’ll hold my breath…

1. Buying more books when I already have a huge stack of books to read.
I always finish my TBR pile before buying new books. Said no bookish person EVER.

2. Not lending books to people because I don’t want them to break the spine/fold the corners/drop them in the bath.
I have even gone to the extent of buying someone their own copy to avoid this happening.

3. Starting to read a really gripping book at bedtime…
… and then pulling an all-nighter to finish it.

4. Getting stuck on a genre.
I read a contemporary/fantasy/historical book that I love, so I read another contemporary/fantasy/historical book, and then another, and another… before I know it I’m stuck in a genre groove that I just can’t get out of.

5. Judging a book by its cover.
Most book covers are chosen by publishers, based on what they think will sell best. They don’t always do a very good job of reflecting the book’s true nature.

6. Calling in ‘sick’ to work so I can read the latest long-awaited book in a series I’m obsessing about.
Oh yes. I do a really good ‘sore froat’ voice.

7. Continuing to read a book if I’m not enjoying it.
A wise lady once told me that life is too short to spend time reading a book you don’t enjoy. She was right of course!

8. Reading books and really enjoying them and then not getting around to writing a review.
The love needs to be shared!

9. Talking like my favourite character from whatever book I’m currently reading.
Like the time I read We Were Liars and couldn’t stop saying ‘sub-optimal’.

10. Having so many book boyfriends, there’s just no time for real men.
There’s no time to find Mr Right when it’s all about Mr Write. And I kind of like it that way.

Have you got any bookish habits you wish you could quit?

 

Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. I try to switch between genres. Used to read just fantasy, but read crime, thrillers, high fantasy, sci-fi now. It’s helped me improve my own writing too.
    https://samwhitehousewriter.wordpress.com/2015/10/06/top-ten-tuesday-top-ten-ya-tropes-that-i-want-to-read-less-of/

    Reply
  2. I am guilty with 1, 2, 3 and 8! 😀 But no. 10 made me laugh! 😀

    By the way here’s mine: http://wp.me/p4ZhSl-hJ. 🙂

    Reply
  3. HA! I definitely have two copies of my favorite book (Stone Butch Blues) so I can lend one out but not worry about losing the one that was signed by the author. Nope.

    And seriously, there are WAY too many books out there to read ones that just aren’t doing it for you! I give a book 50 pages to pull me in. If not, I move right along. 🙂

    Reply
  4. #1-5 … totally and completely relating to you! My TTT

    Reply
  5. and yes – life IS too short to read a book you’re not enjoying!! Too many other great books out there 🙂

    Reply
  6. I can honestly say I have no problems with putting a book down to go to sleep. I know. I’m so weird.

    I’m the same with number 1.

    Reply
  7. You know, I’ve never called in sick to work to read a book, but I think I might need to do that in the near future. What a great idea. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow The Library for Delinquents and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 381 other followers

  • Currently reading:

