Top Ten Stories That Needed to be Told

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, and this week’s topic was a ‘freebie’. I’ve chosen to list ten books whose stories I thought needed to be told. Some of them tackle difficult subjects such as rape or suicide – they are stories that need to be told because we need to talk more about these issues. Other books feature teens who are getting to grips with gender identity, mental health or body-image issues – real problems that face real teens in our world. The rest of the books on the list give voice to stories seldom told, of conjoined twins or a girl who can’t go outside because of her allergies – these are stories that give us a unique viewpoint and make us see the world with new eyes.  In a way, this list is a celebration of just some of the many different voices and stories in YA fiction today – enjoy!

Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

18692431

This is one of the most talked about YA releases of September and next on by TBR list. It’s about a girl who has so many allergies that she hasn’t left her house in seventeen years. But things start to change when she strikes up a friendship with a boy who moves in next door…

Asking For It by Louise O’Neill

I finished this in one sitting at the weekend and I’m still reeling – review to follow this week. Emma O’Donovan is the prettiest and most popular girl in town. Until one morning she wakes up after a party, sunburnt and in pain, and she can’t remember what happened the night before. But everyone else knows – because graphic pictures are all over Facebook. It’s a harrowing depiction of what happens when a girl is gang-raped and the close-knit community she lives in turns against her.

25255576

The Art of Being Normal by Lisa Williamson

‘David Piper has always been an outsider. His parents think he’s gay. The school bully thinks he’s a freak. Only his two best friends know the real truth – David wants to be a girl.’ I heard Lisa speak at the NewDayNewNormal tour last month – she was really inspiring and I cannot wait to read this book.

art of being normal

Finding a Voice by Kim Hood

I absolutely adored this touching story of a girl who struggles to make friends at school and feels very alone until she befriends Chris, a severely disabled boy who can’t speak and is confined to a wheelchair. They help each other to ‘find a voice’, and you would not believe the scrape they get themselves into!

22732218

Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella

An unexpected friendship helps Audrey to get to grips with her anxiety disorder. I’m intrigued to read this YA title by Shopaholic author Sophie Kinsella.

23305614

One by Sarah Crossan

Tippi and Grace have always done everything together and they’ve always been happy that way – a good job, really, because they are conjoined twins! But when the girls’ body begins to fight against them, they face the difficult choice of whether to undergo dangerous separation surgery. This book is told in free verse and sounds like it could be a real tear-jerker!

23524610

The Unlikely Hero  of Room 13B 

A whodunnit with an unlikely hero – a fourteen-year-old boy with OCD. It’s been on my shelf for a while – I hope I get to it soon.

25900064

My Heart and Other Black Holes

A sixteen-year-old girl wants to end it all – but she’s not sure she has the courage to do it alone. Aysel thinks she’s found the answer when she meets Roman through the website Suicide Partners, but as their suicide pact draws them closer, Aysel begins to question whether she really wants to go through with it.

my heart

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda

Coming out in high school is a pretty intimidating prospect – so you can understand why Simon panics when someone reads his email exchange with a boy named ‘Blue’ and starts blackmailing him with the threat of outing him. Even worse – if he doesn’t give in to their demands, Blue will be exposed too. This sounds like an entertaining read about stepping out of your comfort zone, with a touching romance at its heart.

homo sapiens

Dumplin’

I just had to include this book on the list because self-proclaimed fat girl Willowdean, the heroine, sounds so awesome! ‘Her thoughts on having the ultimate bikini body? Put a bikini on your body.’

dumplin

So there it is, my list of ten stories that needed to be told. If you have any recommendations of books I could add to this list, I’d love to hear them.

What was your Top Ten Freebie topic today?
Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. What an awesome list! Some of these are on my TBR already and you made me add a couple too!

    My TTT- http://www.amandasnoseinabook.com/2015/09/15/top-10-unfinished-series/

    Reply
  2. I LOVE this list! A bunch of amazing books on it! Have you read George? I think you’d like it too! My TTT this week is all about the awesome authors I met at DBF!

    Reply
  3. I’m sad to say I’ve only read one of the books on this list – Everything Everything (and I LOVED it) – but several of the others are on my “must read (soon)” list!

    My TTT!

    Reply
  4. great topic idea for today! So many stories need to be told & talked about! My TTT

    Reply
  5. My Heart and Other Black Holes & The Art of Being Normal are both on my TBR and I’m kind of interested in reading Asking For It, after seeing it on this list.
    My TTT: https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2015/09/15/top-ten-tuesday-22/

    Reply
  6. Cait @ Paper Fury

     /  September 17, 2015

    Ohhh, I’ve read 6 of these! 😀 I really want to read Simon’s, because everyone absolutely raves about it…though I have to admit I didn’t like Finding Audrey at all. I thought it wasn’t a very realistic portrayal of social anxiety disorders. *sad face* BUUUUT DUMPLIN IS EVERYTHING.
    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow The Library for Delinquents and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 381 other followers

  • Currently reading:

