The Last Ten Books That Came Into My Possession

toptentuesdayWow, that week went by fast! I can’t believe it’s already time for another Top Ten Tuesday, brought to you weekly by the lovely bloggers over at The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic – the Last Ten Books That Came Into my Possession – was an easy one to compile, but it made me realise I’ve quite a bit of reading to catch up on! I blame it on moving house recently. Here’s my list, starting with the most recently acquired:

untitled

1. Rail Head by Philip Reeve

This one came to me as an ARC from Oxford University Press, with an invitation to take part in a competition to win Eurostar tickets to Paris. Er, yes please! I loved Philip Reeve’s Mortal Engines series so I’m looking forward to reading this story set in a futuristic world where sentient trains criss-cross the galaxy in a heartbeat. I received two ARCs so one of them is up for grabs to the first blogger who asks for it.

23282679

2. Messenger of Fear by Michael Grant

A surprise ARC from the lovely people at Electric Monkey. I love the cover and the blurb intrigued me – Mara wakes up  in an in-between land, not quite dead but not quite alive. A mysterious ‘Messenger’ appears and invites her to play a game. Hopefully I’ll get time to read this one very soon.

emberintheashes_jkt_5-1

3. Ember in the Ashes By Sabaa Tahir

Another ARC. Read it, loved it, reviewed it. It definitely deserves all the attention it’s been getting.

51J6fU-Lw+L

4. To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

I bought this back when the release date for Go Set a Watchman was announced. I’m reading it now for a book group this month. I actually started reading it on 11th July, the 55th anniversary of the book’s release!

25900064

5. The Unlikely Hero of Room 13B by Teresa Toten

An impulse buy. I’d read quite a few good reviews of this one and couldn’t resist it when I saw it discounted in Waterstones. The main character is a boy with OCD.

20814989

6. Half Wild by Sally Green

I cannot believe I’ve not yet had time to read this sequel to Half Bad! This is a top priority on my TBR.

A1VeWPHu6FL

7. Conversion by Katherine Howe

This was one of a set of four ARCs that came from new imprint Rock the Boat in celebration of its launch in June. It’s a sort of modern reimagining of The Crucible set in an all girls’ school in which the girls develop a Mystery Illness. I’ve just finished reading it – review to come this week.

25203939

8. Mindwalker by A. J. Steiger

This and the next two were also Rock the Boat ARCs. It’s a dystopian novel in which the government maintains peace and tranquillity by brain-wiping all disturbing experiences.

23168328

9. Minus Me by Ingelin Rossland

When Linda collapses during a diving competition she discovers she has a rare heart condition, but she refuses to let it stop her experiencing all the things a thirteen-year-old should. Could be a bit of a tear-jerker!

20170580

10. Nest by Esther Ehrlich

I love the gorgeous cover of this middle-grade book about a little girl nicknamed ‘Chirp’ who finds out that her mother has a life-threatening disease and finds solace by losing herself in adventures with her mysterious friend Joey. Sounds like a really sweet story.

What books have you acquired recently? If you have read any of the ones on my list, what did you think?

Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. I read To Kill a Mocking Bird at school and loved it. I’ve heard very mixed opinions on Go Set a Watchman… The Unlikely Hero looks like it could be good. Happy reading!

    Reply
  2. To Kill A Mockingbird is fantastic! That is why I’m a bit nervous about Go Set A Watchman…still going to read it though!

    Reply
  3. To KIll a Mocking Bird is on my list this week too. I am looking forward to getting my hands on an Amber In the Ashes, and I read Half Wild not that long ago. it was much better than the first one to me (half bad was just horrible). Happy readings!

    Reply
  4. That cover for Messenger of Fear is so completely opposite the US one that it kind of weirds me out. It doesn’t even look like the same book. I hope you enjoy it though!
    My TTT

    Reply
  5. I read To Kill a Mockingbird way back in high school. We even went to a college production of a play based on the book. Nest looks really good I might have to check that one out.

    here is my ttt:http://mommywantstoread.blogspot.com/2015/07/top-ten-tuesday-recently-acquired-books.html

    Reply
  6. I’ve wanted to read An Ember in the Ashes since it released! Good list! Happy reading!

    Check out my Top Ten Tuesday!

    Reply
  7. I’ve heard “Ember” is really quite good. But I’ve not read. I guess that’s another one I recently got. It’s had so much hype, when I saw it (just at Walmart, I believe), I decided to pick it up. 🙂

    Reply
  8. I too had a rushed week/weekend. Can’t believe it’s Tuesday again. Great list. Happy reading and hopefully a slow week 🙂

    My TTT.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow The Library for Delinquents and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 381 other followers

  • Currently reading:

