Top 10 Books From My Childhood That I Would Love To Revisit

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

toptentuesday

When I saw the topic of this week’s Top Ten Tuesday list I couldn’t resist a trip down memory lane. When I was a kid I was even more of a bookworm than I am now – if that’s even possible! – so it wasn’t easy to stick to ten for this list.

It was so fun digging out my old copies to photograph. Just seeing the old covers reminded me of how it felt to read these books as a child. Trouble is, they are now all sitting in an inviting pile next to my bed…

1. The Witches by Roald Dahl

One of my all time favourite – maybe even my absolute favourite – authors and this is my favourite of all his books. I must have read this a dozen times already and know parts of it off by heart.

20150323_204915122_iOS

Those Vitches of Inkland were pretty horrible all right, but the worst thing about them? No toes!

9780141322643_Witches_IMG_0025

2. The Truckers trilogy by Terry Pratchett

I just loved these stories of tiny people against the world.  (I’m only five foot so maybe I identified…) These little guys knew the meaning of teamwork.

20150323_204839311_iOS

3. The Colour of Magic by Terry Pratchett

OK, so not really a children’s book and it contains some pretty adult themes, but as a ten-year-old I was unfazed by that. I definitely remember laughing out loud at lots of the jokes!! Pratchett’s Discworld is an unforgettable fantasy world. Given Pratchett’s recent passing a re-read of these books seems timely.

20150323_204749324_iOS

4. Choose Your Own Adventure

Any and all of these books! It was so fun getting to choose what happened next. If the story didn’t end the way you liked you could start over. Though from what I remember most of the endings were pretty gory!

20150323_204805846_iOS

5. The Dark is Rising saga by Susan Cooper

These books seriously gave me the willies but I couldn’t get enough of them! I loved being caught up in an adventure where another world was lurking beneath the surface of our own.

20150323_204720145_iOS

6. The Princess and the Goblin by George MacDonald

This is a bit of a random book and I don’t know if it will appear on many people’s lists. The goblins lived in the mines underneath a mountain and their one aim in life was to annoy people – and they had a cunning plan to kidnap the Princess. I was convinced there were goblins hiding under every stone after I read it!

20150323_204734985_iOS

7. The Chronicles of Narnia by C. S. Lewis

I was obsessed with these books and remember feeling really gutted when the series came to an end. I’ve never re-read them as an adult – part of me doesn’t want to as I want to preserve my childlike memory of the stories.

20150323_204938506_iOS

8. King of the Vagabonds by Colin Dann

This was the first book I read by Colin Dann and I read every single other one he wrote – it was the start of a long phase of reading books about animals. I loved how the animals were the protagonists and you got to find out what they were thinking and feeling.

41GSRX3T4KL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

9. The Nancy Drew books

I just couldn’t get enough of these adventure mysteries. Nancy was the coolest! I think I must have moved onto these after finishing all the animal books.

untitled

10. The Sadler’s Wells books by Lorna Hill

This list wouldn’t be complete without a ballet-related book. I loved these stories set in one of the world’s most famous ballet schools and used to fantasise about getting to go there. Sadly I don’t think my pas de bourres were up to scratch!

1965832

Thanks to The Broke and the Bookish for coming up with this topic – it’s been really fun reliving the memories! What books would you like to revisit from your childhood?

 

 

 

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Ahhhh! How could I have forgotten Choose Your Own Adventure?!?

    Reply
  2. Maggie

     /  March 24, 2015

    OMG; I still read Nancy Drew! 🙂 The Witches is another favorite of mine as well; it’s one I’d love to read again! Happy reading! 🙂

    Reply
  3. readerbuzz

     /  March 24, 2015

    I love how you took pictures of your own books! Lovely.

    Here’s my list of favorite children’s books from childhood.

    Reply
  4. The Witches! Yes! I chose Matilda for my list, but I loved The Witches too. That is a great pick.
    My TTT!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow The Library for Delinquents and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 381 other followers

  • Currently reading:

