• library4delinquents

    library4delinquents

    YA fiction reader, freelance editor, home-baker, moustache admirer and very small person.

    View Full Profile →

Top Ten Books On My Fall To-Be-Read list

toptentuesday

In this week’s Top Ten Tuesday (hosted every week by the wonderful bloggers over at the Broke and the Bookish) we’re sharing our lists of what books we’re looking forward to reading this fall (or autumn, as us Brits call it). Click on the book titles for Goodreads pages or reviews of the books.

18367581

Afterworlds by Scott Westerfield, 23rd September

The book that everyone’s talking about, from acclaimed author of the Uglies series. I am already loving all the reactions to this book in the YA community, and this hilarious marketing clip. Check out my review coming later this week!

18475593

Winterspell by Claire Legrand, 30th September

I love the sound of this dark retelling of The Nutcracker story set in nineteenth-century New York and a mysterious land called Cane. Perfect reading for a wintery evening.

20579287

The Queen of Zombie Hearts by Gena Showalter, 30th September

The final instalment in this thrilling trilogy – it’s been a long wait since Through the Zombie Glass but I’m sure it will be worth it!!

NOATS-300

Night of a Thousand Stars by Deanna Raybourn , 1st October

I read City of Jasmine, also by this author, earlier this year and loved the mix of romance and adventure in an historical setting. Her next book promises yet more exotic adventures: Poppy Hammond jilts her aristocrat groom at the altar and heads ‘east across the seas, chasing a hunch and the whisper of clues’.

16059938

Black Ice by Becca Fitzpatrick, 7th October

I’m guessing this will be on a lot of people’s lists – the much anticipated book by the author of the Hush, Hush saga. It’s all about a girl who goes trekking in the Teton mountain range and gets taken hostage. To survive, she must lead her captors off the mountain – and decipher the clues to a chilling series of murders that have taken place out there. I love books set in the wilderness and this one sounds really atmospheric.

18106985

Exquisite Captive by Heather Demetrios, 7th October

This caught my eye because I’ve never read a book from the point of view of a jinni stuck in a bottle before. And I will NOT get that Christina Aguilera song stuck in my- oh dammit…

17399160

Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch, 14th October

Set in the ‘Kingdom of Winter’, this story is all about one girl’s quest to restore magic to her people and free them from enslavement. It sounds like ideal fireside reading with a touch of Narnia to it.

19286673

Loop by Karen Akins, 21st October

A time travel romance and mystery rolled into one.

20759498

Compulsion by Martina Boone, 28th October

A Southern Gothic tale about a girl who must try to break the curse that has tied her family for generations.

17234658

A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray, 4th November

In which a girl journeys through parallel universes on the hunt for the man who murdered her father. Sounds like gripping stuff!

Thanks for stopping by. What’s on your Top Ten list this Tuesday?

Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. I’ve always wanted to read Winterspell and Afterworlds by Scott Westerfeld!! I really heard that they are really good! And I recently discovered Claudia Gray’s other books, Stargazer (?), and I can tell her books are good so I really want to check them out too! I’m definitely adding A Thousand Pieces of You in my TBR! 🙂 Lovely list 😀

    My TTT

    Reply
  2. I also want to read Afterworlds. I seem to have somehow forgotten to include it on my list, but I’ll definitely be reading it this fall. Same for Snow Like Ashes and A Thousand Pieces of You!
    My Top Ten Tuesday

    Reply
  3. You picked up such amazing books and I’m excited because some of them are on my tbr too. Happy reading! 🙂

    My TTT: http://readingadd.blogspot.ro/2014/09/top-ten-tuesday-top-ten-books-on-my.html

    Reply
  4. Afterworlds looks like a popular choice this fall! I hope to fit in a read as well. Loop is also on my list- it looks so cool! Captive and Ashes look tempting too. Happy fall reading 🙂

    Reply
  5. None of these made my official TTT list, but I am so excited to read Afterworlds, A Thousand Pieces of You and Snow Like Ashes. Those last two have amazing covers! Enjoy all your great Fall reads! ~Megan

    Top Ten Tuesday-Top Ten Books on My Fall TBR List 9/23/14

    Reply
  6. Afterworlds and A Thousand Pieces of You seem to be making rounds on everyone’s list this week! Good thing so many people are talking about it because I completely forgot about their fall releases haha.

    Cheers,
    joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts

    Reply
  7. I am obsessed with the Nutcracker (and I mean OBSESSED) so I can’t believe I didn’t hear about Winterspell earlier!

    Reply
  8. You got some cool books on your list!! I want to read Afterworlds, Exquisite Captive, and Black Ice. It seems like Winterspell and A Thousand Pieces of You are very popular this week! I will have to see about those…

    Thanks for stopping by My TTT

    Reply

Leave a comment

  • Enter your email address to follow The Library for Delinquents and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 380 other subscribers
  • Currently reading: