Top Ten Books That Will Be In My Beach Bag This Summer

toptentuesday

The beach is one of my favourite places to read, so it brought a smile to my face when I saw the theme for this week’s Top Ten Tuesday (hosted every week by the wonderful bloggers over at the Broke and the Bookish). When it comes to holiday reading, I usually like either something really gripping that I can’t put down, or something light and fluffy that’s easy to read. And sometimes it’s nice to pack an old favourite too. Click on the book titles for Goodreads pages or reviews of the books.

Essence by Lisa Ann O’Kane

18456082

We had some lovely weather in Brighton this weekend, and this book has already had its first outing to the beach. It falls into the unputdownable category – I’ll tell you all about it when I post my review soon!

Everything Leads to You by Nina La Cour

18667779

I read a brilliant review of the audiobook on The Reading Date recently and it made me really want to read this book. It’s got romance, mystery and the ultimate escapist setting of Hollywood’s film industry.

Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson

18189606

This one has a summery theme – a girl disappears and leaves her best friend a list of things to do over the summer. It sounds like it will be a life-changing summer – and it’s got an enticing air of mystery about it too!

Free to Fall by Lauren Miller

18602289

If I read the blurb of this book in an airport bookshop, I’m sure I’d have to get a copy. This sounds like a brilliant what-if premise for a book, I wonder where the author will go with it: What if there was an app that told you what song to listen to, what coffee to order, who to date, even what to do with your life—an app that could ensure your complete and utter happiness? What if you never had to fail or make a wrong choice?

Biggest Flirts by Jennifer Echols

16140838

Jennifer Echols has been recommended to me by a few fellow bloggers. I’d like to try this fun and flirty book about a girl who is thrown together with a handsome boy when they are voted the school’s biggest flirts.

Open Road Summer by Emery Lord

16081202 (2)

Because every holiday needs a good road trip book. This one sounds like it would make you want to turn up the country ballads and hit the road.

Half Bad by Sally Green

18079804

Holidays are the perfect time to make some in-roads on the TBR list, and this one has been waiting on my Kindle for a while. It’s described as ‘a breathtaking debut novel about one boy’s struggle for survival in a hidden society of witches’.

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

16143347I read this recently, inhaling it in the space of the afternoon, but I’d like to give it another read to catch all the bits I missed. Set on a private island where the privileged Sinclair family spend their summer holidays, it’s got that glossy endless summer feel to it – but there is a murky mystery at its heart and a twist at the end that could well have you jumping up off your sun-lounger in outrage.

Bright Young Things series by Anna Godbersen

7719248

These books tick two boxes – light and easy to read, and an old favourite. I can’t think of anything more relaxing than lying back with a cold Long Island ice tea and slipping away into the shimmering, glamorous world of 1920s New York.

What books are on your list? Happy beach reading! Here’s where you can find me with a book this summer…

photo

 

 

 

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Biggest Flirts looks so good. Keep seeing Half Bad this week. Can’t wait to read those two.

    Reply
  1. Are you looking for beach books? | jean's writing

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow The Library for Delinquents and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 381 other followers

  • Currently reading:

