Top Ten Tuesday – Books About Friendship

toptentuesdayHello all! Top Ten Tuesday, as most of you know by now, is a weekly blog event hosted by the Broke and the Bookish, and this week’s theme is friendship. Here are my top books about friendship (or that have memorable friendships in them). What are yours?

Maggot Moon by Sally Gardner 

This is one of the most moving books I’ve ever read! Narrator Standish’s loyalty to his friend Hector is so touching.

maggot moon

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

Need I say more really? One of the few times I have actually cried when reading a book.

893136

 

Rose Under Fire by Elizabeth Wein

Friendship becomes the only source of hope and life in a Nazi concentration camp for women. Gripping stuff.

rose under fire

Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson

I haven’t got round to reading this one yet, but I love the idea of a girl who has mysteriously disappeared leaving a list of things for her best friend to do.

18189606

The Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants by Ann Brashares

I don’t think I could have made this list without including this classic!

336530

The Incredible Journey by Sheila Burnford

A book about some animal friends who go on a really long journey together. It’s the cutest, and a childhood favourite of mine.

231821

Charlotte’s Web by E. B. White

Possibly the most bizarre pairing in fiction – a pig who is best friends with a spider. But hey, it works!

24178

The Lord of the Rings by J. R. R. Tolkien
You’ll know when you’ve found your best friend, because they will be there for you whatever path you choose in life – even if it takes you right into the heart of Mordor.
11520555
The Secret History by Donna Tartt
Not all friendships are good. Specifically, those that lead you into ill-advised recreations of bacchic rites…
70897
Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. Charlotte’s Web!!! I can’t believe I forgot to put that on my list! Great book. 🙂

    Reply
  2. Ha I like how you included The Secret History, it didn’t say GOOD friendships after all. So creepy, that book.

    Reply
  3. I almost put Charlotte’s Web on my list too. My daughter loved The Book Thief. You have a neat set of books for this week’s post.

    Hope you’ll visit http://thebookconnectionccm.blogspot.com/2014/05/top-ten-tuesday-ten-books-about.html

    Reply
  4. I can’t wait to read Since You’ve Been Gone. I’ve heard some great things about it! 🙂

    Reply
  5. These are awesome picks! Great post 🙂
    My Top Ten this week!

    Reply
  6. I love Code name Verity, but I haven’t read Rose Under Fire yet. I’m looking forward to it! I also love the friendships in Charlotte’s web, The Book Thief, and the Traveling Pants books.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow The Library for Delinquents and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 381 other followers

  • Currently reading:

