Top Ten Bookish Things (That Aren’t Books) That I’d Like To Own

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday, as hosted every week by the Broke and the Bookish, is all about book-related goodies – a really fun-themed list and a bit of a change from the usual. Once I started thinking about it, I was surprised how many bookish things were already on my mind…

Top of the list has got to be… an enormous library with a big ladder on rails to swing along!!! Or even just a set of bookshelves big and sturdy enough for the swingy ladder. I will never stop buying books so one day I’m going to need somewhere pretty big to store them all, and a ladder is a must for a shorty like me… OK, so it’s unlikely this little fantasy will be fulfilled any time soon, but just like Belle, a girl can dream…

beauty and the beast bookshopIn the meantime, I’ll just have to make do with adding some style to my book collection, maybe with some cute bookends like these from Not on the High Street.

normal_antique-cream-garden-bird-book-ends

My favourite place to read is in a big old comfy chair, and I’ve been on the lookout for one for a while. This one looks pretty awesome…

76f962475d94e26d19ad0e8678acd88b… and in this one, you wouldn’t even need to get up to reach for your next book:

nobody_b1Another place I like to read is in the bath, where one of these would really come in handy:

tub-readYou can never have enough bookmarks, so I’m always adding to my collection. This one from Bookish England has a really cool caricature of F. Scott Fitzgerald, and a recipe for a Gin Rickey cocktail on the back:

untitled (2)Penguin have been doing book-themed gifts for a long time, with everything from mugs to deckchairs in the iconic paperback cover style, but I’ve never seen these passport holders before. Want!

1287490530-97087300

The Picture of Dorian Grey by Oscar Wilde is one of my favourite books of all time, and while I find this poster from the Literary Gift Company slightly creepy, at the same time it is very cool how they have managed to fit the entire text of the book into the picture. If I had it, though, I’d always be checking to see if it had changed…

the-picture-of-dorian-grey-novelposter-11401-pCompletely impractical (because they could never hold all my books!) but nevertheless beautiful are these tree-branch wall-shelves designed by Olivier Dolle.

11_56_fr

And finally, because I love to bake, I don’t think my kitchen will be complete until I have a Wilton open book cake tin to make bookish birthday cakes for my friends and family.

51U5sTU6InL

So that’s my list – what bookish things would you like to own?

Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. I love the branch bookshelf! I think I would need at least 50 of them though!

    Reply
  2. Cait

     /  April 15, 2014

    Omg, that super comfy looking chair?! That would probably be dangerous for me to own because I would never never get out of it. XD My TTT!

    Reply
  3. I’ve never seen the book cake pan before! I must have it! That comfy chair looks amazing like a nest. Great list! You’ve definitely expanded my wishlist!

    Reply
  4. Must.Have.Comfy.Chair.

    Reply
  5. That book cake pan! Oh my goodness. I’ve never seen something like that before. I need it for sure. And that comfy chair looks like the best thing ever. Thanks for adding to my list. 🙂
    Check out my TTT!

    Reply
  6. I’ve always been too scared to read in the tub – in case I dropped my book in! So, that tub shelf is perfect for me! Great list 😀

    Megan @ Bookworm in Love

    Reply
  7. Wow- you found some awesome treasures! I had no idea a book cake pan even existed. Love the passport covers too, and the reading chairs!

    Reply
  8. spidersilksnowflakes

     /  April 15, 2014

    These are so cool! Can you read the words on the Dorian Gray poster? and yes, I’d be so paranoid about it changing over time haha
    The chairs are so great!

    – Kritika @ Snowflakes & Spider Silk

    Reply
  9. I need that cake pan in my life.

    Reply
  10. You found some cool stuff! I love that cake tin — I work at a library and it would be so fun to bake a book-shaped cake for work! I also really like that bookshelf and the bird bookends.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow The Library for Delinquents and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 381 other followers

  • Currently reading:

