Top Ten Books That Will Make You Cry

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by the wonderful folk over at the Broke and the Bookish and this week’s theme is Top Ten Books That Will Make You Cry.

toptentuesday

This one was quite a hard list for me.  It’s not because I’m a cold-hearted witch who never sheds a tear. But I do think that tears and laughter and what triggers both is all very subjective. So I haven’t made the full ten this week, but here you go…

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

Yes, I know – start with the obvious one. But this book really did make me cry. And laugh. And sometimes both at once. Let’s hope that this year’s film adaptation doesn’t have us in tears for all the wrong reasons…

TFIOS

Maggot Moon by Sally Gardner

This tale of dyslexic hero Standish’s bravery in the face of oppression is one of the most moving books I have ever read. Deceptively simple, but it really gets you!

maggot moon

Rose Under Fire by Elizabeth Wein

The sheer bravery of the characters in this story, set in a Nazi concentration camp for women, had me in tears at times. Just one thing that really touched me was when narrator Rose read poems and stories she had written to her fellow inmates to keep up their spirits. And why is it that you can journey with a character through terrible adversity, but when they finally get out of their tight spot, that’s when the tears really come!

rose under fire

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness, about a boy whose mother is battling cancer and how he is haunted by monsters during this frightening time. I have a feeling this will be on a few people’s lists.

a-monster-calls-234x300The Voluptuous Delights of Peanut Butter and Jam by Lauren Leibenberg

Two sisters face loss, betrayal and the end of innocence in this tragic but beautifully written tale set in Rhodesia. It evoked nostalgic memories of my own childhood growing up in Zimbabwe and reminded me how precious a thing a little sister is.

thCAD92KH8

Old Yeller by Fred Gipson

Do I even need to say why?? *SOBS*

9780395732595

In fact, I could add to this list any other book ever in which an animal is harmed/dies/gets separated from its beloved owner!

Which books have you reaching for the tissues?

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I hat to add A Monster Calls to my TBR – I’ve seen it on SO MANY lists today!!

    Nicole @ Feed Your Fiction Addiction

    Reply
  2. I completely forgot to add A Monster Calls when I made my list which is a bummer since I just added books I had read since the last time this list was offered three years ago. Good call.

    Anne@My Head is Full of Books

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow The Library for Delinquents and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 381 other followers

  • Currently reading:

