Top Ten 2014 Releases I’m Dying To Read

toptentuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by the Broke and the Bookish. This week, the theme is releases I am dying to read in 2014. Quite a few on my list are sequels, but there are some new authors I haven’t tried before thrown in there too.

shadowplay1. Shadowplay by Laura Lam (Jan)

Top of my list is the sequel to Pantomime, one of my favourite books of this year. I can’t wait to return to the captivating world of Ellada and find out how Micah Grey fares after fleeing the circus.

unhinged2. Unhinged by A. G. Howard (Jan)

Splintered, set in an Alice in Wonderland inspired world, has to be one of the strangest, twisted tales I ever did read, with characters that haunt me. I’m not overly keen on this cover but I’d be willing to place money on this second instalment living up to the weird and wonderfulness of the first book.

raging star3. Raging Star by Moira Young (May)

How long have we been made to wait for the final book of the Dustlands trilogy? WAAAAY too long, that’s how long!!!

City of Jasmine4. City of Jasmine by Deanna Raybourn (Feb)

I love books set in the 1920s and even better, exotic European colonial outposts. The story of a famous aviatrix who sets off on a flight around the world and gets mixed up in the hunt for a priceless relic sounds like the perfect escapism to me.

infinite sea5. The Infinite Sea by Rick Yancey (May)

The 5th Wave seems to have gained a name as something of Marmite book. Love it or hate it, I’ll be eagerly picking up a copy of The Infinite Sea when it comes out, because I can’t wait to see where the author is going to take things next.

tribute6. Tribute by Ellen Renner (March)

The beautiful cover alone makes me want to pick up this book, set in a world divided by magic where technology and literacy are forbidden.

7. The third White Rabbit Chronicles by Gena Showalter.

This book’s title hasn’t even been announced yet and I’m already excited.

almost girl8. Almost Girl by  Amalie Howard (Jan)

This story about a girl on a world ravaged by an android war who is sent off to find her missing brother sounds so different to anything I’ve read recently.

under nameless stars9. Under Nameless Stars by Christian Schoon (April)

Zenn Scarlett, about an exoveterinarian  in training on Mars, was another of my fave reads this year. This dreamy cover makes me want to dive right in to the next book.


Tsarina10. Tsarina by J. Nelle Patrick (Feb)

Set in Tsarist Russia, another setting that always intrigues me. And just look at this cover. She’s holding a magic egg. A magic egg!!!

 

Which books are you looking forward to reading in 2014?

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Ooh! I like the looks of Tsarina! Must add that to my list of books that I need to get 🙂

    Reply
  2. readerbuzz

     /  December 3, 2013

    I like these choices! Hope they live up to their hype.

    Here’s my list for 2014!

    Reply
  3. Never heard pf Tribute before but the cover is really cool. Going to look that up on GR.
    In a way I’m excited about Raging Star too. I haven’t started the series yet because I wanted to wait until all the books are out to marathon the series and now I finally can 😀

    Reply
  4. Added Tsarina to my list straight away, wow that cover!

    Reply
  5. Some fascinating covers here. (Must not add more books to my TBR list… Must not…)

    Looking forward to more killer-ghost zombie adventures, myself.

    Reply
  6. Unhinged looks really good. I saw it somewhere else lately, too.

    Hope you’ll stop by my Top Ten: http://thebookconnectionccm.blogspot.com/2013/12/top-ten-tuesday-top-ten-books-on-my.html

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow The Library for Delinquents and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 381 other followers

  • Currently reading:

