Top ten (mostly bookish) things I am thankful for

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by the folk over at The Broke and the Bookish, and this week the list’s theme ties in with the holiday of Thanksgiving. It’s not something we celebrate here in the UK, but I like the spirit of it –  any holiday that features pumpkin pie in large quantities is OK by me! In no particular order, here are ten (mostly bookish) things that I am thankful for…

1. Long dark winter nights. There’s not much else that can be said for them, but they are the perfect excuse to curl up with a good book for the evening.

book-by-fire

2. Cats. They’re the perfect reading companions, and always happy to help with writing up book reviews.

800px-Computer_Using_Cat

3. That I had Mrs Brewster as my GCSE English teacher. I’ve been a bookworm all my life but I used to find English literature lessons quite tedious. I don’t know if it was the way they were taught, or the books that were chosen. But not in Mrs Brewster’s class. I have this talented lady to thank for opening my eyes to new ways of interpreting and reading books, and for introducing me to one of my all time faves, Wide Sargasso Sea by Jean Rhys.

wide sargasso sea

4. Bookmarks. Unless you’re using an e-reader, these are really the only sensible way not to lose your place when you put your book down (because obviously spine-bending and dog-earing is just WRONG!!). I’m never disappointed to receive a bookmark as a present, and finding one in a book you haven’t read for a while is a lovely reminder of the person who gave it to you, especially if it was home-made.

photo

5. All my friends and family and fellow bloggers who also love to read. Reading might be solitary pursuit, but half the fun is in getting together with other readers and sharing your thoughts and reactions.

6. Libraries. I have so many happy childhood memories of going to the library – of story-time and the excitement of wondering which books I would discover each time. And other not so fond memories of researching and writing coursework in the library, but I was thankful to have access to such a wonderful resource all the same!

7. My favourite childhood writers. Roald Dahl, C. S. Lewis and many more – thank you for getting me hooked on reading and starting a lifelong passion. And special thanks to Enid Blyton: if it wasn’t for your books, I would never have known about ‘lashings of cocoa’!

the-mystery-of-tally-ho-cottage-2

8. Book cover designers and illustrators, who turn books into beautiful objects.

9. The Broke and the Bookish hosting Top Ten Tuesday every week. It’s so much fun putting the lists together and a great way to get to know other bloggers and find out what other people are reading. I don’t know how they come up with all the topics, but I’ve never seen a dud one yet!

toptentuesday

10. And finally… bananas. Don’t think I could go a day without eating one. Wouldn’t want to try.

images

 

What things, bookish or otherwise, are you thankful for?

Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. comehometobooks

     /  November 26, 2013

    Having good teachers is definitely a blessing. With all my kids in school, I’m very grateful for the men and women who spend their days teaching them, helping them, encouraging them and inspiring them. Good teachers can make such a difference in kids’ lives!

    Susan
    http://www.blogginboutbooks.com

    Reply
  2. Ah! Bookmarks is a great thing to be thankful for!
    And good teachers/professors is important. I was lucky enough to have all three of my professors who were/are wonderful.

    Reply
  3. I wish I had a more inspiring English teacher, but luckily my mum and my sister were brilliant at inspiring me to read. Thank you for stopping by my blog, your list is great!

    Reply
  4. Amazing list! I forgot to include my family/dogs on my list because I was too busy fangirling over a certain TV show that I’m thankful for and now I feel silly!

    OUR TTT

    Doris @ OABR

    Reply
  5. Lovely list…and your last item made me giggle. All hail the banana!

    My TTT is here.

    Reply
  6. Bananas. I love it. 🙂

    Reply
  7. Ah I forgot to add my english teachers on my list *face palm* Great list and yes I love reading with my cat too.
    Thanks for visiting my TTT.
    p.s. have you tried dipping your banana in chocolate and freezing it? It is beyond yummy!

    Reply
  8. I wish my cat was more helpful with reviews and reading – he prefers getting in my way, especially when I’m trying to type on my computer and he wants to be on my lap! Libraries are much more reliable for helping me read – the library has never accidentally scratched me while I try to type up a review! 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow The Library for Delinquents and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 381 other followers

  • Currently reading:

