DAY EIGHT: Top Ten Scariest book covers

Today I am joining in with The Broke and Bookish‘s Top Ten Tuesday event. They’ve come up with two fantastic list themes this week, and I opted to go for the Top Ten Scariest Book Covers.

As a younger reader I was obsessed with ghost and horror stories. I used to get collections of them out of the library and stay up way past midnight devouring them. I remember that some of the books had pretty scary looking covers, and I would always make sure they were placed with the front cover face down when I eventually turned out the light! A book cover illustration will never be quite as terrifying as what the imagination comes up with on reading the contents of a good horror story. But here,  in no particular order,  are ten that come close…

1. I could probably fill this entire post with books from the Goosebumps series. But this one really gives me the heebie-jeebies because I have an abject fear of automated dolls and even worse, ventriloquists’ dummies!!

125564

2. The juxtaposition of the pram, which is associated with innocence, with the painful looking instruments and the spooky background in this cover for The Replacement is truly chilling.

the replacement

3. This cover of Stephen King’s IT has a scary clown on it. Need I say more?!

stephen_king_it_cover

4. Every single one of Darren Shan’s books has something terrifying on the cover, but this creature looks like it’s about to jump right out of the book and get you!

s69lupkmtux77xm

5. Point Horror provided me with many a spine-tingling read as a teen, and the series’ covers never failed to creep me out.

maWK-JoKCFzFJT011rySRWQ

6. Wickedpedia presents us with a disturbing glimpse of how we might all look should the world ever run out of moisturizer…

wickedpedia

7. Eerie, beautiful and haunting, the cover of A Monster Calls is a powerful image that stays with me.

a-monster-calls-234x300

8. Girls who dress up in their Granny’s nightdress and hide behind curtains should never be trusted. (We can see you, by the way.)

3678651

9. Would you be able to sleep if you knew that these guys were queuing up outside to drain your blood? Even if you had boarded up all the doors and windows?

I-am-legend-195x300

10. This eye will haunt you. Forever.

vivisector-195x300

Thanks for stopping by and checking out my list. Which book covers scare the bejesus out of you?

If you enjoyed this list, you might also like some of the other posts appearing in my Lil’ Bookshop of Horrors Halloween themed event. Tomorrow there will be a review of Haunted by William Hussey, and on Thursday I will be interviewing William Hussey himself. Here’s what else has been going on:

DAY SEVEN: Lois Duncan, the Queen of Teen Terror – guest post by Carol Turner

DAY SIX: Gena Showalter interview

DAY FIVE: Through the Zombie Glass review

DAY FOUR: The Ultimate Halloween Movie Hit List, guest post by Lucy from The Reading Date

DAY THREE: character interview with Emma Gentry of Broken/Tainted fame

DAY TWO: Tainted by A. E. Rought book review and giveaway

DAY ONE: The Lil’ Bookshop of Horrors is now open… dare you enter?

Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. *shudder* you’ve got some creepy ones there, that eye is nasty! Wickedpedia looks scary as well!

    My TTT

    Reply
  2. jamielee841

     /  October 29, 2013

    YES if I was going to do this particularly prompt I was so going to put that same Goosebumps title. Also, fist bump* I also was a huge horror reader as a kid — all those RL Stine books (Fear Street was my fave) and Christopher Pike. PURE GOLD. I feel like I’ve never seen that I Am Legend cover before but super creepy!

    Reply
  3. That eye IS going to haunt me! What a fantastic creepy list!
    here’s our TTT

    Janhvi @ The Readdicts

    Reply
  4. The Goosebumps covers were so freaky. The book with the eye is terrifying. Argh!

    Reply
  5. I have such a phobia about clowns and dummies and eyes…eek! You really know how to scare me this week! Spooky awesome list 🙂

    Reply
  6. Whoa, that last pick *shudders* That’s such a creepy cover. Awesome picks!

    Our List
    Andy @ Owl Always Be Reading

    Reply
  7. That I Am Legend cover is super creepy! Wikepedia, Night of The Living Dummy and that It cover creeeeeep me out.

    This is a perfectly spooky list!
    My Top Ten

    Reply
  8. Ah, Goosebumps, the books that kept you up at night as a kid…

    You have a couple that made my list, too. I was at least nice enough to make The Vivisector cover a thumbnail–way to just make that jump out at people! 😛

    Reply
  9. Eww that eye is nasty!!! Thank you for the nightmares in advance LOL! I love that Goosebumps cover! I totally forgot about it for my throwbacks section that I made for this week! oh and Bad Girls made my list too 🙂

    My TTT

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow The Library for Delinquents and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 381 other followers

  • Currently reading:

