Top Ten Series I’d Like To Start But Haven’t Yet

Top Ten Tuesday is a weeklyfeature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish and this week we’re listing series that we’d like to start but haven’t yet.

This is where I put my hand up and admit I haven’t get round to reading any of the series listed below, some of which are already multimillion bestsellers. I don’t know why, but sometimes, perversely, I don’t want to read books billed as ‘bestsellers’ – perhaps because it’s a bit like being told to enjoy something. But often curiosity gets the better of me. At least now these are officially on my TBR list.

images1. The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer. A quartet of interlinking fairytale-inspired novels with a modern twist.

Cinderella is a cyborg and Little Red Riding Hood joins forces with a street fighter named Wolf to find her missing grandmother – I admit I’m very intrigued!

2. The Iron Fey by Julie Kagawa. Faerie beings locked in a deadly war.

I am yet to read any of Kagawa’s books – and by the way other bloggers rave about her writing, I’m expecting great things. The Iron Fey may have to wait, however, as I’ve just received an ARC of The Immortal Rules, the first in her latest series.

3. Divergent by Veronica Roth. Set in post-apocalyptic Chicago, where humanity has reorganised itself into five factions that each uphold and live by a single core value.

I didn’t read this when it came out as I was suffering from dystopia overload, but I’ll come back to it at some point as I love the sound of the premise.

4. The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare. Demon-busting on the streets of New York.

I’ve got City of Bones on my Kindle, ready to read before the film comes out this summer.

imagesCA578M81

5. Tempest by Julie Cross. A time-travelling boy races against time to save the girl he loves.

I loved The Time Traveller’s Wife, which is why this time-travel romance caught my eye. Vortex, the follow-up to Tempest, came out this year but Tempest is still sitting on my shelf unread.

6. Matched by Ally Condie. Life in a ‘perfect’ world where all your choices, including who you marry, are made for you.

The much anticipated final book in this trilogy came out late last year. One good thing about being behind on a series is that you can read them all one after the other (kind of like getting the TV boxset) instead of waiting in-between books, which I have a feeling I won’t want to do with this series!

imagesCA92MTMP7. The Looking Glass Wars by Frank Beddor. Inspired by Lewis Carroll’s classic tale.

I’ve read a couple of books recently that take their cues from Carroll’s Wonderland and I’m still eager to return there – Beddor’s series came out in 2005 and has been on my TBR list for a while.

8. At Somerton by Leila Rasheed. Upper-class teens in a Downton Abbey-like setting.

Quite a new series, and it sounds like it will be light-hearted and fun to read.

9. The Mara Dyer series by Michelle Hodkin. Life unravels for a girl who can see people’s deaths right before they happen.

There have been some really mixed reviews, but I’d still like to give it a go and reserve the right to make my own mind up.

10. The Murder Notebooks by Anne Cassidy. Two step-siblings try to track down their missing parents and uncover other secrets along the way.

I would try this series just on the basis of this review. I’ve always enjoyed a good thriller and these books sound compelling!

This is one of those lists where I just bet I’ll keep thinking of even more as soon as I hit ‘post’!

What series are you longing to get stuck into?

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. I know exactly what you mean… I have been blog surfing (thanks to the sign up page on Broke and Bookish) and I must have added 100 books to my list by now.

    Your list is my case and point…

    I do not know how I am ever ever ever going to get through all of them. *sigh*

    Reply
  2. bookbelle0819

     /  March 5, 2013

    I also want to read Divergent – but haven’t. Those fairy tale series do look good to me.

    Reply
  3. I really want to start At Somerton as well. It sounds like a guilty pleasure waiting to happen.
    Our TTT

    Reply
  4. I LOVE the Mara Dyer series. It’s so creepy and SOOO good. I love the Mortal Instruments series, too. I have read Cinders & Sapphires, Divergent and the Iron King, but not the other books in the series. I need to get caught up!! Great list!

    Reply
  5. I’m with you on quite a lot of these: The Looking Glass Wars, The Mortal Instruments, Cinder, and Iron Fey- may of which I own so I shouldn’t have an excuse.
    My TTT http://paigedanielsnguyen.blogspot.com/2013/03/top-ten-tuesday-12.html

    Reply
  6. I love 1-4 and 9! I read Scarlet recently and LOVED more than Cinder. Matched and Tempest are also series on my TBR. Thanks for stopping by my TTT!

    Reply
  7. Cinder and Mara Dyer are on my list too! I’ve read the first 2 books of The Mortal Instrumentsbut didnt like it. Hope that you find it contrary. Divergent is seriously amazing! Matched was pretty good too, but they say the second book is really boring.. Oh well 🙂
    Top 10 Tuesdays
    Waiting on Wednesday

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow The Library for Delinquents and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 381 other followers

  • Currently reading:

