Top Ten Authors That I’d Put On My Auto-Buy List

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish and this week it’s all about authors whose books you love so much that no matter what they wrote next, you’d buy it, regardless of genre or subject matter.

It was really fun putting this week’s list together, and mine is equal parts old favourites and new discoveries, plus a little bit of wishful thinking.

1. First on my list is Lian Hearn (aka Gillian Rubinstein), who wrote the Tales of the Otori series, set on a feudal Japan-esque island. Across the Nightingale Floor was one of the books that first got me into YA fiction – oh happy memories! She is so talented at world building that I’m sure any other YA book she wrote would be a success, and she’s already written over 30 books for children.

2. I have read every book in Anna Godbersen’s Luxe and Bright Young Things series – she has a flair for capturing the spirit of whatever age she chooses to set her historical fiction in. I wonder what era she will tackle next?

3. Suzanne Collins has to go on the list because after the phenomenal success of The Hunger Games, I’d be interested to see what she could come up with next – it’ll be a hard act to follow!

4. Moira Young makes an appearance here partly for the same reason, but also because I loved the characters in Blood Red Road and Rebel Heart and her vivid storytelling technique – I don’t think a change of genre would faze her at all.

5. After reading John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars I am now on a mission to read everything he has previously published and will definitely be snapping up whatever he comes up with next. It’s rare that a writer manages to make you laugh and then cry within the space of a page and that kind of reading experience is addictive!

6. Sally Gardner is another author who has been publishing books for many a year, but only came to my attention when I read Maggot Moon. I really liked her succinct style and ability to convey deep and complex emotions through seemingly simple writing and imagery.

7. Next up are two debut authors who have so captured my imagination with their first books that I can’t wait to read whatever they write next – Laura Lam, author of Pantomime

8. … and A. G. Howard, author of Splintered. They have both managed to create believable yet fantastical worlds that you can disappear into and that leave you wanting more.

9.  Now technically this last one doesn’t count because of course Roald Dahl won’t be writing any more books, but if he were alive today I would gobble up anything he wrote quicker than a bar of Willy Wonka’s finest. I grew up on The Witches and Fantastic Mr Fox and as a teen I couldn’t get enough of his short stories for adults, which are often unsettling but always pinpoint uncannily true, if at times disturbing, facets of human nature.

OK , so it’s technically a top nine from me this week!

Who would you put on your auto-buy list?

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. comehometobooks

     /  February 26, 2013

    SO agree with you on John Green. I loved THE FAULT IN OUR STARS! I’ve got PAPER TOWNS on my Kindle, I just need to find time to read it. *Sigh*

    Glad to have found you via TTT!

    Reply
  2. comehometobooks

     /  February 26, 2013

    Grrr — I don’t know how to comment on WordPress! If you want to see my TTT post (my first ever), it’s here: http://www.blogginboutbooks.com/2013/02/my-first-ever-top-ten-tuesday-auto-buy.html

    Susan
    http://www.blogginboutbooks.com

    Reply
  1. Books I Read in February 2010 | Rafferty's Rules

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow The Library for Delinquents and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 381 other followers

  • Currently reading:

