Top Ten Settings I’d Like To See More Of (Or At All)

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish and this week it’s all about settings that we’d like to see more of (or at all) in books.

1. Underwater worlds. It’s a foreign environment to us humans so there’s lots of potential for coming up with imaginative ways for people or other beings to live underwater. Renegade and Katya’s World are both recent titles with watery settings.

2. Great Britain. Maybe this will seem dull to some, but as the saying goes, there’s no place like home and there is a particular pleasure to be had in reading a book with a familiar setting. I’d especially like to read more books set in places I’ve lived in the UK, like sunny seaside Brighton, atmospheric Edinburgh and the beautiful Snowdonia mountains of Wales.

3. The 1920s. I love Anna Godbersen’s Bright Young Things series, and there’s something about the off-beat glamour and daring party scene of the inter-war prohibition years that always gets me hooked.

4. Non-mainstream communities. Last year I enjoyed A World Away, set in an Amish community, and I’d like to read more about the unique challenges faced by young adults in other minority communities, such as the travelling folk featured in the TV series My Big Fat Gypsy Wedding.

5. Mythological Japan. I am a massive fan of the Studio Ghibli films and all things inspired by Japanese myths and legends – they are just so different to anything in the Western world and so imaginative! I especially enjoy anything that combines these ancients myths with the modern world.

6. The Arctic. Mainly because I adore polar bears. And probably because it’s been snowing a lot at the moment. But also because of the demands that this harsh yet beautiful wilderness places on humans.

7. Turn of the century Paris. This is not just because I loved Moulin Rouge!  The bohemianism, decadence, artistic vibrancy and contradictions of this era, caught between Belle Époque and fin-de-siècle pessimism, has so much scope for fascinating characters.

8. Gothic. Forbidding castles and mist-shrouded graveyards, hidden passages, ancestral curses and the supernatural – there is so much fun to be had with this genre and I love reading books that give it a modern twist.

9. Original fantastical worlds. The best books, for me, are always those that transport you to a fantastical realm far removed from our own, be it Middle Earth, the Traction Era or Narnia, and there is endless potential for creating exciting new worlds.

10. Pirate-infested waters. Because you can’t beat a good old swashbuckling adventure. Yarr!

If you have any recommendations of books with these settings, I’d love to hear them.

What settings would you like to see more of in fiction?

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. stuckinva

     /  January 22, 2013

    Pirate infested waters! I love that setting, and the way you put it. 😀

    Reply
  2. Great creative settings! As a Miyazaki fan I’m in support of more mythological Japan as well. And there’s so many great stories to tell about non-mainstream communities. The Arctic is under-represented in books, isn’t it? Your reasoning sounds good to me. Hope we see more of these settings!

    Reply
  3. I love that you have pirate infested waters on your list…I also have the Caribbean with a side of pirates. 🙂 I also love Turn of the Century Paris–soo captivating! Great list!

    Reply
  4. jabaggiero

     /  January 23, 2013

    The roaring twenties was on my list too! I haven’t read Bright Young Things, but The Diviners by Libba Bray made me want more of that time period.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow The Library for Delinquents and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 381 other followers

  • Currently reading:

