Top Ten Bookish Goals For 2013

I live my life by to-do lists. Eagerly making them and industriously ticking things off as I complete them. Is it satisfying? Yes it is. A bit geeky? Probably! Every year in January I make a list of resolutions – or I’d rather call them goals, things I want to achieve in the coming year – and I usually do a pretty good job at sticking to them (mostly!). So it gives me great pleasure to present my list for this week’s Top Ten Tuesday, the weekly meme created by the wonderful list-loving folk over at The Broke and the Bookish. Here are my Top Ten Bookish Goals For 2013:

1. Read a book a week. When I first started this blog last summer, my goal was to review a book a week and it’s something I still aspire to. So far this year, I’m on track!

2. Always read the book before watching the film. This is one of life’s rules I believe must be observed. The release of a film adaptation is always a good excuse to read or reread the original book. And 2013 looks promising on this front – Beautiful Creatures, The Mortal Instruments, The Host and The Great Gatsby, to name but a few.

3. Find time for some classics. It’s not all about the here and now – there are some much-loved and talked about books that I have yet to experience, like The Owl Service by Alan Garner and A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle. I hope this is the year I finally get round to reading them!

4. Step outside my reading comfort zone. I don’t mean physically – I will still be curled up in the comfy reading chair! But this year I’d like to be more adventurous and try genres and subject matters that I might not normally turn to.

5. Try some graphic novels. It’s a format that piques my interest but I don’t always remember to look out for titles to read. Any recommendations to get me started would be heartily welcomed!

6. Share the bookish love. I always love getting books as presents and I’m pretty sure most people do too, so I’ll aim to spread the love of reading by buying friends and family some fabulous bookish gifts.

7. Read more in digital format. My book shelves are groaning. The last time I moved house my friends helped me shift ten boxes of books. I own a Kindle. I love reading and owning physical books but common sense must prevail!

8. Clear my TBR pile. As distinct from my TBR list, which is endless – I’m talking about that pile of YA fiction books bought/acquired/received that are awaiting a reading.

9. Read some non YA fiction books. Languishing neglected and unread on my shelves are titles by authors including Neil Gaiman, Carlos Ruiz Zafon and Téa Obreht. They deserve a look-in too.

10. Now for the biggie – write a book! I’ve actually already got started on this one and am currently grappling with my first chapter of a YA fiction book that I’m writing with my co-author buddy. Exciting times ahead!

Happy reading in 2013 everyone!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Herman

     /  January 8, 2013

    For graphic novels, I would start with Craig Thompson’s Blankets. It’s big, beautiful, brave, and bookshelf worthy. Or, if you want a wonderful adventure full of amazing female characters, be sure to read Y: The Last Man. There are 10 volumes to get through, but it’s worth it for the mind-blowingness (and the monkey)
    http://www.amazon.co.uk/Blankets-Craig-Thompson/dp/1891830430
    http://www.amazon.co.uk/The-Last-Man-Vol-Unmanned/dp/1840237082

    Reply
  2. Awesome book goals! I have the opposite problem about kindle books – I need to cut back! It is great to just go on vacation and bring only your kindle to read though. Good idea to read books out of your comfort zone- especially if you are writing a YA I hear it helps to read something Fiction books while you’re writing.
    I like the reading a book before seeing the movie goal too. Especially with so many book-movie adaptations coming out this year.
    Good luck with all your reading goals!

    Reply
  3. Wow! I love your blog 😀
    Hope you find more genres to love and Carlos Ruiz Zafon is such a good author! Completely feel your pain about having too many physical books but they look so pretty on the shelf (floor) that it’s hard to stop and get the ebook.
    New follower through e-mail 🙂
    My TTT:
    http://reflectivebookworm.blogspot.com/2013/01/top-ten-tuesday-9.html

    Reply
  4. Great resolutions, I wish I had time for 1 book a week. Maybe after the exams. 🙂
    And I always try to read before the movie, it’s easier to understand (and bash) the movie.

    Thanks for stopping by 🙂

    Reply
  1. Zenn Scarlett cover reveal « library4delinquents

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow The Library for Delinquents and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 381 other followers

  • Currently reading:

